Advertisements
Advertisements
Advertisements

Tomb of the Queen (Jayne Thorne, CIA Librarian #1) by Joss Walker

Tomb of the Queen (Jayne Thorne, CIA Librarian #1) by Joss Walker
Advertisements

Synopsis

A LIBRARIAN. A SPELL BOOK. AND A TERRORIST ORGANIZATION SET ON ENSLAVING THE WORLD. 

Librarian Jayne Thorne enjoys her quiet life of tea and books. That is, until she finds a spell book in the Vanderbilt archives that accidentally gives her access to a magical dimension. 

Now she’s hunted by a magic-wielding terrorist group called the Kingdom, and the only way for her to survive is to team up with a secret branch of the CIA. Her first mission: Go undercover at Trinity College Library in Dublin to discover the identity of a Kingdom member and determine if the Book of Leinster is actually a magical necromantic grimoire. 

With the help of a handsome Irish kickboxer, Jayne uncovers the truth of her unexpected spell book: The Irish manuscript is one of five grimoires that can raise five dead, master magicians, and secure their totems of power. With these totems comes the power to control the world. 

But the spell book isn’t the only thing with secrets in Jayne’s new life. Danger lurks in every corner and Jayne must rise to meet her fated role… or perish alongside the rest of the world. 

Perfect for fans of A Discovery of Witches who love Indiana Jones and Gilmore Girls, this paranormal adventure thriller is the fantasy you’ve been waiting for.

Advertisements
Advertisements

Review

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Tomb of the Queen (Jayne Thorne, CIA Librarian #1)Tomb of the Queen by Joss Walker
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I enjoyed the premise of this one. I read it for The Poisoned Pen Bookstore Sci-Fi/Fantasy Book-of-the-Month Club. I’d recommend it to those who enjoy a magic school, Harry Potter-esque type story.

The Story
It started out super strong. I liked the setting of the library, the whole idea of it.

The background story was interesting and I liked where it was going.

However it just took forever to get there.

The plot idea itself was stellar, but it became a bit boring for my taste especially by the time I came upon chapter 17. It was then when realized I had all this information about what was going on but nothing to really look forward to in how it was developing moving forward. Felt a bit stagnant because there wasn’t as much action, application, and results in ways that I would have kept me engaged.

I lost reading momentum big time. Mostly because it became more about the training, a lot of talk about preparation centered around mind over matter multiple times and drawn out so much that I became less interested as a whole. I only care for so many skill sharpening and self-reflection scenes before they become stilted.

I felt less connected to it and lacked the discipline to continue on so I skimmed the rest and didn’t feel like I was missing out on much.

The Writing
The style was easy to get into. Casual, less analytical, with a lot of dialogue. Technically clean but I would have liked a bit more pizazz and nuance.

Setting
The build up of this fantasy dimension within the library and the literary references was really fun.

Characters
I enjoyed the different aspects and what each character had to offer, but would have enjoyed them a bit more if they had more personality in the things that they did and within the dialogue, whether subtle or more distinguished traits when interacting and talking with each other. As well as some sort of underpinning where character growth was seen and less explained, less narrated and more in the way of character recognition by emotional expression and certain actionable qualities as I read along.

I would enjoy another story, perhaps one with a bit more punch to it to suit my tastes.

View all my reviews

Have your read this one, what did you think?

Advertisements

Grab some coffee or tea and Join Our Conversation!

What are your thoughts?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest from the Blog

Love and Saffron by Kim Fay

The #1 Indie Next Pick, in the vein of the classic 84, Charing Cross Road and Meet Me at the Museum, this witty and tender novel follows two women in 1960s America as they discover that food really does connect us all, and that friendship and laughter are the best medicine.  When twenty-seven-year-old Joan Bergstrom sends a fan […]

Latest from the Blog

Estée Lauder A Beautiful Life by Aerin Lauder, Jane Lauder

Estée Lauder Youth-Dew Dusting Powder Box Absolutely captivating, with opulent flowers, rich spices, precious woods. Estée Lauder Free 7-Piece GiftYours with any purchase! Life in Beauty “Age is an irrelevancy to every woman. Glow is the essence of beauty, and it’s the absence of radiance that diminishes beauty-at any age.” ~Estée Lauder WHAT’S YOUR FAVORITE […]

Moonlight and the Pearler’s Daughter by Lizzie Pook

For readers of The Light Between Oceans and The Island of Sea Women, a feminist adventure story set against the backdrop of the dangerous pearl diving industry in 19th-century Western Australia, about a young English woman who sets off to uncover the truth about the disappearance of her eccentric father. Western Australia, 1886. After months at sea, a […]

Latest from the Blog

Latest from the Blog

100 Plants to Feed the Birds by Laura Erickson

Synopsis The growing group of bird enthusiasts who enjoy feeding and watching their feathered friends  will learn how they can expand their activity and help address the pressing issue of habitat loss with 100 Plants to Feed the Birds.   In-depth profiles offer planting and care guidance for 100 native plant species that provide food and shelter […]

%d bloggers like this: