Book Reviews

ARCs

She Has A Broken Thing Where Her Heart Should Be by J.D. Barker
After the loss of his parents, young Jack Thatch first met Stella as a child—this cryptic little girl of eight Read more.
Gardening Your Front Yard: Projects and Ideas for Big and Small Spaces by Tara Nolan
Gardening Your Front Yard is an active, inspiring resource that shows you how to treat your front yard like a Read more.
Garden Alchemy by Stephanie Rose
Garden Alchemy is a hands-on guide for do-it-yourself gardeners who want to turn their garden into gold using natural recipes Read more.
The Second Worst Restaurant in France (Paul Stuart #2) by Alexander McCall Smith
The Second Worst Restaurant in France (Paul Stuart #2) by Alexander McCall Smith
Renowned cookbook writer Paul Stuart, renewed and refreshed from his time in Tuscany, has returned to Scotland to work on Read more.
The Wolf's Call (Raven's Blade #1) by Anthony Ryan
The Wolf’s Call (Raven’s Blade #1) by Anthony Ryan
Anthony Ryan's debut novel Blood Song - book one of the Raven's Shadow series - took the fantasy world by Read more.
Layover by David Bell
Layover by David Bell
A chance meeting with a woman in an airport sends a man on a pulse-pounding quest for the truth... Read more.
Someone to Honor (Westcott #6) by Mary Balogh
Someone to Honor (Westcott #6) by Mary Balogh
First appearances deceive in the newest charming and heartwarming Regency romance in the Westcott series from beloved New York Times Read more.
A Field Guide to Color: Watercolor Explorations in Hues, Tints, Shades, and Everything in Between by Lisa Solomon
A Field Guide to Color: Watercolor Explorations in Hues, Tints, Shades, and Everything in Between by Lisa Solomon
Play with paint, get creative with color, and discover your personal palette--a joyful, interactive workbook... Read more.
The Floating Feldmans by Elyssa Friedland
Adrift together on the open seas, the Feldmans will each face the truths they’ve been ignoring–and learn that the people Read more.
The Most Fun We Ever Had by Claire Lombardo
A dazzling, multigenerational novel in which the four adult daughters of a Chicago couple--still madly in love after forty years--recklessly Read more.
Ellie and the Harpmaker by Hazel Prior
In the rolling hills of beautiful Exmoor, there’s a barn... Read more.
Little Free Libraries and Tiny Sheds: 12 Miniature Structures You Can Build to Enhance Your Yard or Neighborhood by Philip
Little Free Libraries and Tiny Sheds is one tool on the road to helping you build community in your neighborhood. Read more.

Book Clubs

Parable of the Sower (Earthseed #1) by Octavia E. Butler
In 2025, with the world descending into madness and anarchy, one woman begins a fateful journey toward a better future. Read more.
The Summer Book by Tove Jansson
The Summer Book by Tove Jansson
Full of brusque humour and wisdom, The Summer Book is a profoundly life-affirming story. Read more.
Howl’s Moving Castle (Howl’s Moving Castle #1) by Diana Wynne Jones
Sophie has the great misfortune of being the eldest of three daughters, destined to fail miserably should she ever leave Read more.
Stories of Your Life and Others by Ted Chiang
Stories of Your Life and Others by Ted Chiang
Now, collected here for the first time are all seven of this extraordinary writer's stories so far-plus an eighth story Read more.
The Yiddish Policemen's Union by Michael Chabon © 2019 ericarobbin.com | All rights reserved.
The Yiddish Policemen’s Union by Michael Chabon
At once a gripping whodunit, a love story, an homage to 1940s noir, and an exploration of the mysteries of Read more.
Mountains Beyond Mountains: The Quest of Dr. Paul Farmer, a Man Who Would Cure the World by Tracy Kidder
Mountains Beyond Mountains: The Quest of Dr. Paul Farmer, a Man Who Would Cure the World by Tracy Kidder
This powerful and inspiring book shows how one person can make a difference, as Kidder tells the true story of Read more.
The House of the Spirits by Isabel Allende © 2019 ericarobbin.com | All rights reserved.
The House of the Spirits by Isabel Allende
In one of the most important and beloved Latin American works of In one of the most important and beloved Read more.
Columbine by Dave Cullen © 2019 ericarobbin.com | All rights reserved.
Columbine by Dave Cullen
Columbine is an examination of the Columbine High School massacre. Read more.
We Crossed a Bridge and It Trembled: Voices from Syria by Wendy Pearlman © 2019 ericarobbin.com | All rights reserved.
We Crossed a Bridge and It Trembled: Voices from Syria by Wendy Pearlman
Wartime testimonies and poetic fragments from a cross-section of Syrians whose lives have been transformed by revolution, war, and flight. Read more.
The Republic by Plato © 2019 ericarobbin.com | All rights reserved.
The Republic by Plato
Presented in the form of a dialogue between Socrates and three different interlocutors... Read more.
Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier © 2019 ericarobbin.com | All rights reserved.
Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier
Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again... Read more.
If You Come Softly by Jacqueline Woodson © 2019 ericarobbin.com | All rights reserved.
If You Come Softly by Jacqueline Woodson
Both Elisha (Ellie) and Jeremiah (Miah) attend Percy Academy, a private school where neither quite fits in... Read more.

All Books

Lab Girl by Hope Jahren
Acclaimed scientist Hope Jahren has built three laboratories in which she’s studied trees, flowers, seeds, and soil, also so much Read more.
Bellewether by Susanna Kearsley
It’s 1759 and the world is at war, pulling the North American colonies of Britain and France into the conflict. Read more.
She Has A Broken Thing Where Her Heart Should Be by J.D. Barker
After the loss of his parents, young Jack Thatch first met Stella as a child—this cryptic little girl of eight Read more.
Parable of the Sower (Earthseed #1) by Octavia E. Butler
In 2025, with the world descending into madness and anarchy, one woman begins a fateful journey toward a better future. Read more.
A Quiet Life In The Country (Lady Hardcastle Mysteries #1) by T E Kinsey
Lady Emily Hardcastle is an eccentric widow with a secret past. Florence Armstrong, her maid and confidante, is an expert Read more.
Gardening Your Front Yard: Projects and Ideas for Big and Small Spaces by Tara Nolan
Gardening Your Front Yard is an active, inspiring resource that shows you how to treat your front yard like a Read more.
Garden Alchemy by Stephanie Rose
Garden Alchemy is a hands-on guide for do-it-yourself gardeners who want to turn their garden into gold using natural recipes Read more.
The Little Bookshop of Lonely Hearts (Lonely Hearts Bookshop #1) by Annie Darling
A quaint old bookshop, where happy ever after is only a page away… Once upon a time in a crumbling Read more.
The Summer Book by Tove Jansson
The Summer Book by Tove Jansson
Full of brusque humour and wisdom, The Summer Book is a profoundly life-affirming story. Read more.
Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens
Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to Read more.
Cottage by the Sea by Debbie Macomber
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A seaside town helps one young woman reclaim the light after darkness in an uplifting Read more.
The Biggest Snowman Ever by Steven Kroll
When the mayor of Mouseville announces the town snowman contest, Clayton and Desmond claim that they will each make the Read more.